Just another WordPress.com site

Tower Bridge

Tower Bridge, originally uploaded by Roadduck99.

I was in Sacramento, California in October. Beautiful weather, daytime highs in the upper 80’s and nighttime lows in the low 60’s. No humidity.

Because Sacramento is three time zones from my home, and because I normally get up at 5 a.m. to go to the gym, I found myself awake far before dawn every morning. Nothing better to do than grab the camera and go for some night shots.

My hotel, the Embassy Suites Riverfront, was right next to the iconic Tower Bridge, a gleaming golden drawbridge that, together with the State Capital, bookends Capital Mall downtown.

This is my favorite photo of many that I took in Sacramento. Here I am looking back toward the hotel. My tripod is straddling the guard rail, though I was quite safe from traffic. The traffic was light at this hour (6 a.m. or so), which allowed me to get some uncluttered light trails.

2 second exposure, f/8, ISO 400. Shot with my 18-55mm kit lens wide open.

4 responses

  1. Good to see the blog back in action, Joe. Sacramento’s not one of my favourite places, but you do it proud, as always.

    December 5, 2012 at 9:00 pm

    • Joe

      Thanks, Gwyn!

      December 5, 2012 at 9:25 pm

  2. Bruce Fournier

    Beautiful, awesome as usual. 🙂

    December 5, 2012 at 10:22 pm

  3. Joe

    Thank you, Bruce!

    December 5, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Leave a comment