Just another WordPress.com site

Guitar Parts

 

Stripes, originally uploaded by Roadduck99.

The other day I made a makeshift studio on my kitchen table to play around with a variety of shots. Eventually I took out my electric guitar – a Fender Toronado – and took a bunch of photos with it. This was my first try on the guitar with my new camera. It was a fun experiment in light and focus and depth-of-field.

Close up of the bridge

Close up of the saddles

I got some decent shots with my old camera, but a combination of the camera’s and my own shortcomings in dealing with low light usually led to a fair amount of graininess, as in the Tuners photo:

Tuners on my Fender Toronado

Guitars, with their curves and shiny bits, are a lot of fun to photograph. ย One day I hope to get a satisfactory image of the whole thing!

7 responses

  1. Cool shot, Joe! It’s almost an abstract–very nice!

    March 6, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    • Joe

      Thanks, Cindy. I love shooting the guitar. God knows I can’t play the darn thing!

      March 6, 2011 at 3:09 pm

  2. Couldn’t agree more. I’ve tons of pix of my guitars over the years… I particularly like your one of the saddles though, that’s quite the macro you’ve got there ๐Ÿ™‚

    March 6, 2011 at 3:11 pm

  3. Joe

    Thanks, Gwyn. I really like that one, too.

    March 6, 2011 at 3:13 pm

  4. Joe, that is really funny! I assumed that you played guitar! LOL! Are you hoping to learn? It’s not that hard to learn the chords really. . . I could teach you a few at some point if you’d like?

    March 6, 2011 at 3:14 pm

  5. Joe

    Thanks, Cindy. It’s not quite that bad. I can’t play the darn thing *well.* I’m OK if I’m strumming the basic chords, but I start to struggle if I need to barre anything or try a simple fill. And I certainly can’t sing and play at the same time. A natural musician I am not.

    March 6, 2011 at 3:20 pm

  6. LOL! I don’t like barre chords myself actually. Don’t do ’em ever. . . I just know all the other ways to play those same chords generally, but I’m sure if I built up hand and wrist strength enough, I could play barre chords and it would probably make my guitar playing more effortless! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    March 6, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Leave a Reply

