Just another WordPress.com site

New Camera

My Precious, originally uploaded by Roadduck99.

I lost my old Canon point and shoot camera a few weeks ago. Naturally I replaced it with two cameras bought off Ebay. One is the Nikon Coolpix that I’ve been using for the last several weeks. And for Christmas, I received my first DSLR – a Sony a230. It came with an 18-55 mm kit lens, but I hope to get a zoom (or zoom/macro) lens sometime soon, hopefully with my Examiner.com earnings. (Subscribe!)

The kit lens takes pretty good macros on it’s own, I’ve already discovered.

Harry Potter Christmas Ornament

I’m looking forward to improved clarity and light control with this camera. I feel like I’ve taken a step toward being a “real” photographer.  (EDIT: See comments regarding this statement.  I don’t mean to imply that “real” photographers have to use SLR cameras.  I’m simply saying that the new camera will allow me to explore more photographic ideas.)

3 responses

  1. Beth

    “real” photographer? Kind of sorry to read that.

    Congratulations, again, on the new cameras. In your hands, great shots will be made.

    December 28, 2010 at 10:14 am

    • Joe

      Thanks, Beth. Perhaps I should re-word that. I mean that I was such a novice just a couple of years ago, that I feel like this is part of my evolution of learning and improving the craft. Obviously terrific photos are taken with non-DSLR cameras – I’m proud of many of my own – so I don’t want to imply otherwise. But I was constantly running into the limitations of my old Canon, so I am happy to have a camera that has the capability to take more of the photos that I envision.

      December 28, 2010 at 2:43 pm

  2. Beth

    Understood. Evolution is good.

    I’m going very slow with my new camera. Deciding if it is really the right one for me.

    December 29, 2010 at 1:09 am

Leave a Reply

