Just another WordPress.com site

Photo Contest

Sunrise over the Chickens, originally uploaded by Roadduck99.

I entered the above photo in a contest at the Portland Press Herald‘s website. It’s a photo that I took in August, as I was riding my bicycle past Crystal Spring Farm in Brunswick at dawn. I stopped to take some photos over the field, and the chickens came streaming out of their coop and wandered toward me, probably expecting to get some food. Unfortunately, they had to settle for whatever they could scratch out of the ground.

This was a difficult photo for me to take, looking into the sun. I couldn’t really see anything with the sun right in my face, and the viewfinder on the back of the camera was useless. I sort of pointed the camera in a fence opening and hoped it came out OK.

I just learned about using high ISO in low-light settings in doing some research for a new camera, and I wonder if I should have bumped up to a higher ISO. (Though maybe the sun would have been more blown out? I don’t really know how that works.) I’d prefer the sun in this to be a more defined star shape. But the light on the chickens is pretty good, in my opinion.

I was researching new cameras because I lost mine the other day. It’s a point-and-shoot, and I left it on the roof of the car, not noticing that it fell off when we drove off. By the time I got back to the parking lot, it was gone. Careless. I was looking to upgrade anyway, but this is pushing the time frame forward. I want an entry-level DSLR. Suggestions are welcome.

In the meantime, click on the above link and vote for my photo. Or vote for another photo if you like it better than mine. Voting for this week’s contest ends on November 14, I think .

Leave a Reply

