Just another WordPress.com site

More Photos about Death and Transformation

Davis Cemetery, originally uploaded by Roadduck99.

I set out yesterday to shoot more golden leaves. The Cousins River Marsh on the border between Freeport and Yarmouth has some tremendous foliage and beautiful marsh grasses, and I was hoping to get some photos of that. Alas, I couldn’t figure out how to get to a place where I could shoot. The Interstate has a beautiful view, but stopping there didn’t seem prudent.

I did find a nice old cemetery while I was looking. I went down the bank behind it to get to the marsh, but the views there weren’t the same, and I didn’t have the time or the proper footwear to go mucking about to get better views. So I took some shots in the cemetery instead. There are lots of leaning stones, and a few that have toppled and started to be swallowed by the earth, so it was tough to get a photo with many markers in it.  Even the cemetery has a life cycle, it appears.

Margaret

I was taking photos of leaves using the macro setting on my camera. I decided to try a shot using the macro setting but with nothing to focus on. I liked the result below. We call this “bokeh.”

Unfocused

2 responses

  1. i really like that first photo. the black and white really adds to the age of the cemetery itself. i love to spend time in cemeteries. there’s something peaceful and mysterious about them. i recently visited a cemetery in east texas and took some photos of a wall relief of jesus called “ascension”. they turned out fairly well. even though the relief was in color, i liked the black and white versions better…

    November 3, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    • Joe

      I agree, B&W really works with the somber nature of cemeteries. On the other hand, in Maine we get gorgeous yellow and orange foliage that makes a terrific backdrop for marble headstones. Autumn is a great time to spend time in cemeteries, regardless of the spooky atmosphere at Dark-30.

      Thany you for checking out this post!

      November 3, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Leave a Reply

