Just another WordPress.com site

Night Shift



Night Shift, originally uploaded by Roadduck99.

People are constantly trolling along flickr looking for photos to use on their websites. I know, I’ve done the same thing. Every once in awhile they’ll come across my photo stream and see something they like, and they’ll ask to use it. Usually they are looking to offer no more than photo credit.

A few of times in the past I’ve said OK. At first I was flattered, and then I justified giving away the rights with the thought that I wasn’t likely to actively market that particular photo anyway, so I’m not really sacrificing income.

What I discovered was that allowing use in return “photo credit” is basically just giving the image away. So when I recently received another solicitation, for the photo in question, I decided to ask for a little cash for the trouble. And much to my surprise, the folks agreed! So what you see here is the first photo that I have ever sold. May there be more in the future!

6 responses

  1. Joe, that’s wonderful! Congratulations!

    January 12, 2012 at 12:49 pm

  2. By the way–thank you so much for the link to my website under your Hire a Photographer category–I just noticed this! :-)

    January 12, 2012 at 12:49 pm

  3. Joe

    Thanks, Cindy. And my pleasure. I am skeptical that it’s sending you a lot of traffic, but maybe you’ll get a hit or two.

    January 12, 2012 at 1:42 pm

  4. Laurie Breton

    That’s awesome, Joe! Taken from your office, I presume? I love night photos!

    January 12, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    • Joe

      Thanks, Laurie. From the office indeed. It came out real good considering the equipment I was using at the time!

      January 12, 2012 at 3:30 pm

  5. Every hit counts, Joe!

    January 12, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers